Ten Months of Fitness – Fm May 26th, 2015

I’m coming up on ten months into my fitness program. This past month has been rather difficult. A lot of extraneous stuff going on that has made it difficult to stick to diet and exercise. Honestly, I’ve only missed a couple of days and have made up a couple on the odd weekend. I hit the gym four days a week and typically do 75 to 85 minutes each session totaling 360 to 420 reps. Mondays and Thursdays are upper body and Tuesdays and Fridays core and lower body. I’ve skipped a lot of cardio this past month to see if I could build a little more lean body mass over that time period. It really didn’t seem to make a lot of difference. I plan to go back to 20 minutes HIIT on the bike at least three times a week for the next month and continue the usual gym routine.
I’ve adjusted calories up and down over the past weeks to see where my weight would go. I’ve settled at about 180 pounds. I’m pretty happy with my progress except for this little belt of belly fat that just won’t go away. Rather than obsess about it I think I’ll just go on with the program and monitor my waist size rather than cut calories again. Building back muscle mass right now is more important than vanity inches around my waist. I’m currently at 16 percent body fat which for a man of my (ahem!) age is considered lean so I should probably just chill and carry on. Considering I’ve gone from a size 44 pants to a 32 and dropped a little over 70 pounds I guess I can call this a success so far.
Going forward the trick will be maintaining focus and not losing sight of the fact that to keep fit I will have to make this a permanent life style change. The diet part is much harder than the gym. The gym is addictive and when I don’t go it just doesn’t feel right. Food, on the other hand, is always tempting me. I keep a couple of cheat days in my pocket and compensate on other days with a lower caloric intake so it’s worked out. So far. Guess we’ll see in another six months or so where I am.
If I can do this anyone can. I’m lazy and I really like to eat things that aren’t good for me. You need to make the mental adjustment and accept the change to your daily routine of diet and exercise. Your program doesn’t need to be as intense as mine. With the right dietary balance and 20 to 30 minutes of exercise three or four days a week you can lose weight and keep it off.
I used to work out to impress the ladies. Now I work out to make sure I see my grandkids grow up. My how priorities change with age. Not that I’m exactly old but I have earned all this gray hair.

Leave a Reply

