A Year of Workouts – Fm August 6th, 2015

It’s been one year since I began my journey to fitness. Though that journey is far from over I have reached many of the goals I set in August of last year. Surprisingly, it really doesn’t seem that a year has passed. The journey has had its ups and downs as with everything in life. I’ve lost the weight that I set out to lose. I joined a gym in February (Planet Fitness. A really great place). I now go five days a week for about 90 minutes a workout. I really feel so much better than I did a year ago. Most days. As with anything, there are days when just about every joint hurts. So far I’ve managed to work through most of the minor stuff. I realize at my age there’s probably going to come a time in the not too distant future where I won’t be able to maintain this level of activity. That’s life. Until then I plan to push as hard as I can every time I hit the weights, lift a little more than the week before, work through the pain and mental exhaustion.
This year I plan to celebrate my birthday by ignoring my chronological age. It is just a number. An impressively large number, to be sure, but just another number. I think I’ll start counting from one this year. One year in my new(ish) body. I will have cake.
I have the next year planned out. I know where I want to go from here. I’ve really just started to see the fruits of my labors. It’ll be fun to see how far I can go, what I can accomplish. Anyone who tells you you’re too old, too fat, too young, too skinny to start getting in shape is just simply full of shit. Just don’t try to do too much too fast. Make a six month plan. Set some achievable goals month by month. You’ll be surprised what you can accomplish.
It’s really nice (ego trip ahead) to have people at the gym compliment me on my workout, on my focus. And even the guy that told me I was in pretty good shape for a guy my age meant well. I think. If you decide to try a gym shop around. Find a place that feels right with a staff that actually cares about what they’re doing. Not to sound like an ad for the place but Planet Fitness is for just about anyone. They have classes for beginners and there’s always someone around to help you and answer your questions. It’s clean and the equipment is kept in very good shape. They have memberships for about $10 for the basic and $20 for their black membership that includes massage chairs, unlimited tanning and access to clubs anywhere in the US. Hard to beat. If you do join a club make an effort to get to know some fellow members. Most people go about their business and seem hesitant to interact. I’ve made an effort to say hello and exchange pleasantries with some folks and it’s paid off. It seems no matter when I go these days there’s someone to chat with, exchange ideas with and provide you with a spot when you need one. There are a handful of schlubs as there are everywhere but not that many. Most of them don’t get up at five in the morning fortunately.
So, here I am. One year in. I’m not slowing down. In fact I’ll be changing gears to beast mode, running the ragged edge between optimum fitness and a stay in the hospital. I’ll check back in a year and let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

